PDA

View Full Version : Barker Mill CNC conversion



snowman
09-30-2010, 02:47 PM
I've been meaning to do this for a while, like almost a year. Time always gets in the way. Now I'm to the point where I really want it done, so I might actually force myself to work on it.

I've got the mill in a few pieces right now. The goal is to get it into my basement, and as it sits, it weighs in around 400 lbs. I'm not carrying that down stairs. Plus I want to take it all apart and make sure everything is clean and all that jazz.

Here is just the table. The mill was originally used with a pneumatic cylinder on the x axis, so I have to convert it to have a leadscrew.

http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill1.jpg

In the foreground you can see a piece of DOM tubing. I am going to use that to hold my nut. Haven't entirely figured out how yet, but I've got time for that.

snowman
09-30-2010, 02:50 PM
In this picture you can see the plate, I have to bore it out so that I can weld the DOM tubing to it, and have a mounting flange.

http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill2.jpg

This is everything held together by fit only.

http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill3.jpg

Starting to shape the flange so it has clearance for the table to move.

http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill4.jpg

snowman
09-30-2010, 02:51 PM
Finally this is where I'm at now. Got it all welded up, now I have to see if I can find some transfer screws cheap. Then I have to plate this side of the table, and start working on the bearing housings on the other side. More tomorrow but I need to get ready for class.

http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill5.jpg

snowman
09-30-2010, 03:19 PM
this is the mill

http://www.barkermill.com/pix/AM_R__.JPG__lo-res_copy.jpg

DFMiller
09-30-2010, 08:45 PM
Cool. That a PMO I think. I am interested in what you are doing. I have a PM that I am just starting to clean up and most likely will CNC.
Dave

snowman
09-30-2010, 11:01 PM
no, it's an AM. 30 taper spindle

DFMiller
10-01-2010, 10:10 AM
Snowman.
That's even nicer.
Have you decided on Ball or Acme or one of the Delrin nuts over Acme or Ball?
Dave

snowman
10-01-2010, 10:15 PM
Starting with ACME with acetal.

Got the x axis leadscrew nut bracket bored, threaded and made the threaded plug to hold the acetal nut in.

http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill10.jpg

Then started on the outboard leadscrew casing for the x axis. Got the bearing cup done.

Without threaded plug:


http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill7.jpg

With threaded plug, still need to drill for spanner pins.


http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill6.jpg

snowman
10-01-2010, 10:16 PM
Also got the z axis outboard bearing block done, with and without threaded plug.

All too much threading today! Tomorrow I have to make the leadscrew holders, then solder the actual leadscrews into them. Should probably get up early and make it to the welding supply place for solder though.

I want to have these two axis's done tomorrow. The Y axis is a little more in depth because I have to make the nut spin. I'm also having a hell of a time with bearings...I just don't have a good selection and I'm trying to work around what I have.

http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill8.jpg

http://www.homeshoptooling.com/barker/mill9.jpg

snowman
10-02-2010, 01:13 PM
First snag.

On the z axis I used just a standard general purpose bearing.

Not rated for axial loads.

It'll still work for the time being, but I've got another set of angular contact bearings I can put in it at a later date.

DFMiller
10-02-2010, 10:28 PM
Looking good! What size lead screw are you going to use?

snowman
10-02-2010, 11:26 PM
Looking good! What size lead screw are you going to use?

Using 1/2"-10 acme, it's what I have on hand. If I find I need bigger, I can always upgrade. It will be hard to upgrade the x axis though

Rustybolt
10-03-2010, 11:29 AM
no, it's an AM. 30 taper spindle


Since there's an overarm ther's an "O" in the moniker somewhere.
AMs had no overarm.

Keep us posted on your progress.
Those are sweet little mills that could do some serious HD machining.

snowman
10-04-2010, 01:02 AM
Not following.

I got my information from the barker website

http://www.barkermill.com/am.htm

All AM's on that page are shown with overarms. It's standard equipment on the AM. It's the PM model that doesn't have it as standard equipment.