PDA

View Full Version : Painting without primer ?

nheng
12-04-2003, 12:28 PM
For you guys who have painted old machinery, how many have done so successfully without primer, over bare (stripped) metal. I know ... the primer gets a grip into the surface and provides a better surface for the paint but for home use with spray cans, I can't honestly say that primer has ever given me a more durable and chip "resistant" surface. Heat always seems to improve the end result though, driving off the solvents.

Also, what is your favorite spray can paint that gives good results and is readily available ?
Den

G.A. Ewen
12-04-2003, 12:35 PM
I am by no means a professional painter but from my limited experiance I have found that primed surfaces make it much easier to get a uniform color as an end result.

Evan
12-04-2003, 12:51 PM
Primer really does help, especially on aluminum. Zinc Chromate primer for aluminum also works on iron. It bonds chemically to the metal and also prevents rust. Favorite spray paint is Tremclad. Baking the parts until it no longer has the solvent smell sure does improve the durability but it might not be advisable to bake a lathe or similar. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

lynnl
12-04-2003, 01:24 PM
At what temp should the baking be done?

Evan
12-04-2003, 01:46 PM
I bake at about 150-180 degrees F. Right about at the point where it is too hot to touch for three seconds. It's not critical but don't get it too hot. Let the paint air dry fairly well so you don't boil the solvent and make bubbles. I will use an infrared radiant heater or sometimes place longer parts over an electric portable baseboard type heater. Been known to put parts on top of the wood stove but that stinks up the house pretty good. I don't dare use the kitchen oven http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//eek.gif

[This message has been edited by Evan (edited 12-04-2003).]

nheng
12-04-2003, 01:55 PM
G.A.Ewen: I forgot about color uniformity ... it definitely does that !