PDA

View Full Version : For Beginners

scrap
12-08-2003, 12:51 AM
I know that this has been asked but bear with me. I'm new to machine work and learned on a Monarch 10EE with many bells and whistles. I would like to purchase my own lathe perhaps an Atlas/Southbend etc. 120 or 240 VAC. I have also looked at the Harbor Freight special for $799. Is it ok or is it junk like I suspect it is? Any ideas on price for a used lathe? I live in Cedar Rapids, IA USA and items such as lathes and mills aren't exactly abundent. Thanx.

Jerry B
12-08-2003, 02:13 PM
scrap,
I was in the same boat as you a few years ago. The one piece of advice I can give you is: Don't jump on the first item you see.

Shop around. Ask questions about the machines history. Things like: Who owned it previously? Why did they get rid of it? What did they use it for? Production or maintainence? What did they replace it with? Where is the wear located and how bad is the wear? How much and what tooling comes with it?

Don't worry about being 3 phase or single phase. You can overcome the 3 phase problem easily enough with home made converters.

It is my undersanding that the HF line of tools is the lowest degree of quality of any of the asian imports. If you wan't to purchase new asian tools, try the Enco line.

pgmrdan
12-09-2003, 11:46 AM

[This message has been edited by pgmrdan (edited 03-08-2004).]

BillH
12-09-2003, 01:07 PM
Only reason I bought my HF micro mill was the price and size. Ofcourse I would rather have a Bridgeport, and one day I will.
Anyhow, Dan, if the HF stuff scares you, you've should of seen the condition of the box my micro mill came in, would of gave you a heart attack. Box was smashed to pieces, the mill was loose, knocking things around. I accepted it though, I figured I could fix anything that broke quicker than waiting for a another one.
Turns out, nothing was broken or bent, amazingly.

pgmrdan
12-09-2003, 01:24 PM

Thrud
12-10-2003, 03:51 AM