PDA

View Full Version : Milling A.R Plate Question

doctor demo
11-24-2010, 12:33 AM
I have a project that includes milling some 1-1/2" thick abrasion resistant plate.
The pieces have been water jet cut and now have to be finished to size.

I have torch cut, welded and punched a r plate in the past but I don't have any history machining it.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Steve

3jaw
11-24-2010, 10:29 AM
I used to work in a shop that made material handling gates and we used A.R. plate for the wear surfaces. A.R. is a pain in the you know what to machine. Use carbide tooling and oil and it won't be as bad as HSS. It will work harden very easily so make sure you are always making chips and keep the cutting speed down.

Evan
11-24-2010, 11:39 AM
It depends a lot on the particular grade of AR plate. Some grades are marginally machinable but others are not. The work hardening is instantaneous when the material is pushed beyond the yield point by any means. Waterjet cutting is a good choice as it won't have produced general hardening but unless the plate is in the fully annealed condition you may not be able to machine it.

Annealing AR plate requires that it be heated above the Curie temperature and soaked there for long enough to ensure that all of the cross section is up to full temp. Then it must be cooled at an extremely slow rate with no sudden changes in temperature until it is below about 300F. The cooling rate should be no faster than about 50 dgrees per hour which means that it should be cooled over a 48 hour period for best results.