PDA

View Full Version : Help fixing magnetic chuck

Dale Lusby
12-03-2010, 01:53 AM
I have a Walker Ceramax mag chuck that has never really worked right. It doesn't let go all the way when turned off and doesn't hold quite as good as it should either. I took it apart assuming the magnets weren't lining up and after opening it I was surprised at the waxy nasty mess inside. I assume it isn't supposed to be this way and it's residue from a previous life of hard labor. Would it likely be dried coolant? Is it supposed to be clean inside? Everything seems to be working properly and I assume the issue is the stickiness that is making it so hard to move. Is there another adjustment to line up the magnets properly? Any ideas are much appreciated.
Thanks,
Dale

Walter
12-03-2010, 04:20 AM
Dale,

I'm no expert but I did stay at a holiday inn express last night... wait, wrong fiction.

I just did a rebuild on a suburban mag chuck. I can't speak to your waxy mess, but they do need lubrication for sliding. More likely is the linkage for moving the mag block, if it's not releasing then the poles are staying engaged, hence the block isn't moving to the proper position. IF you have any play / slack in the mechanism that's most likely the problem.

JoeLee
12-03-2010, 09:22 AM
I had a Walker 6 x 18 that had the same problem. Thier design for the linkage that moves the magnet pack back and forth isn't the best, and it does take a substantial amount of force to move the magnet pack, more so after the grease dries out or contaminates have creeped in. After the linkage starts to wear the magnet pack doesn't move the distance it should for proper on / off. Also if there is still some magnatism left when in the off position and there could be a problem with the shorting straps inside. They were two thin strips of metal. In the chuck I had they were badly corroded as the chuck was full of water. It must have been used on an EDM or something. Once they get wet inside your done.