PDA

View Full Version : honest replies - large vs small shaper

andy_b
12-11-2003, 03:11 PM
i read through many of the past posts on shapers and how to set them up and use them. and i've read all the replies saying "bigger is better" and "if it fits in your shop/garage, it isn't too big". seriously though, i'm just a hobbyist and have never used a shaper. as with most machine tools, i didn't know what a shaper was until i started reading this board (well, i knew what a woodworking shaper was). if i could get a small (8", is that small?) shaper or a large (16" or so) shaper for almost the same price, which one would realistically be a better choice for me? i built a rotary phase converter with a 5HP motor, so that is about my max HP available at present. i'm guessing a large shaper may be 7.5 or 10HP. i also don't exactly have a 3'x6' section of floor space to dump a large machine in, but could make space available. is a small machine that much smaller (floor mounted, not bench mounted)? would the trade-offs in size and power requirements be acceptable to go with a smaller machine vs a larger one? can a large item be worked on using a small machine if i just keep repositioning the item (i know an 8" machine can't reach 16" into the bore like a large machine).

i'm looking for honest replies from folks who may have used both a large and small shaper or who have made many useful projects with just a small one. any regrets from folks who upgraded (or downgraded, or missed an opportunity to)? i guess this has to do with just about any piece of machinery though.

thanks.

andy b.

G.A. Ewen
12-11-2003, 03:33 PM
Hi andy,