PDA

View Full Version : I need a tool to build a tool to build a tool!

Black Forest
12-05-2010, 11:21 AM
I am sure you all have gone down this road!

I need a angle plate for my horizontal mill. 12"X 12" X minimum 1" thick plates.

What would be the best way to build this angle plate? Normally I would cut the plates, square them up on the mill and then weld them together with the braces on the back. Then I would heat it in an oven to 700 plus degrees and let it cool slowly. After that I would bolt it down on the mill and face the two sides.

I then thought maybe I would be better to bolt it together and not weld.

So how would you all build one?

vpt
12-05-2010, 11:24 AM
I'd weld it because I'm a welder.

Evan
12-05-2010, 11:29 AM
I would go to a steel supplier and buy a short piece of channel iron and square that up. It will be very close to start with so the work will be minimal.

winchman
12-05-2010, 12:00 PM
"After that I would bolt it down on the mill and face the two sides."

How would you position a 12" angle plate on the mill table to you could face the entire surface?

Carld
12-05-2010, 12:04 PM
I would make it out of angle iron as I have done in the past. It's fast and easy. Of course, buying one is easier.

MuellerNick
12-05-2010, 12:23 PM
I'd weld it. Then I'd put it into my oven if it would fit. If that oven is too small, I wouldn't stress relief it.
If I would need a precise angle plate, I'd buy a cheap one out of CI and scrape it to my standard (that is very low :D ).

Nick

bborr01
12-05-2010, 12:32 PM
I would go to a steel supplier and buy a short piece of channel iron and square that up. It will be very close to start with so the work will be minimal.

Channel iron?????

Brian

rockrat
12-05-2010, 12:38 PM
It looks as though the replies have it nearly covered. Now you need to decide on what you are trying to accomplish in the end.

Do you need something quick and dirty to just get by? Then weld up a bunch of angle iron and let her rip.