PDA

View Full Version : Say'n Hi: Grinding wheels and reamers.

Ray C
12-06-2010, 10:57 PM
Hi. I've been lurking for a few days and decided to post... I'm a shop hobbyist but was a certified mechanic in the late 70's. Now I've rekindled general machine-shop work with lathes, welding etc. I used to rebuild antique flywheel diesels and lately have been rebuilding modern diesels and making generator sets in the 20-30kw power range. It's all fun and a distraction from the real day job. Interested now in focusing on machinst-like actvities and that brought me here. FWIW, my father and most of my close relatives were old-school tool & die makers. I recently reburbished an Atlas lathe -and wish I had the old Leblond that I used as a kid. Ok, intro over.

So, I use mostly HSS lathe tool bits but have the occasional need for carbide tips. AO wheels run away in fear of carbide and am wondering how well green wheels hold up and if the green wheels work well on HSS (seems they should). What grit are people using? If diamond wheels are the way to go, how long do they last and how should they be cared for? Does diamond come in different grits?

Also, for non-precision work, I've been thinking about a set of adjustable reamers. They have their obvious limitations but am wondering if they hold up and if the adjustment remains set while using them.

Thanks -and if anyone ever wants to chat about generators and engine matching, just hollar...

AllThumbz
12-06-2010, 11:28 PM
I'm a newbie who just picked up a Baldor with two green wheels and was advised by the knowledgeable around here to toss the green wheels for both carbide and HSS and buy an aluminum oxide (white) wheel for HSS and a diamond wheel with a diamond dresser for carbide. Hope that helps a bit.

deltaenterprizes
12-07-2010, 12:07 AM
Welcome to the forum, ditto the above post.

wooleybooger
12-07-2010, 12:11 AM