PDA

View Full Version : dedicated threads for our forum

dvk
12-13-2003, 11:33 PM
Here's an idea, I for one like to share tidbits I learn in my experiance in machining, especially with others who are where I am Just starting out, I have a whole list of tips and tricks I've aquired as I progress in this hobby, I would like to share these things with other newbies, it looks like others have great tips too, that we could all benefit from, so why don't we start a thread that we could always access to add to it on tips and tricks in the shop, which means is if someone has a tip to share, go to the search and pull up the dedicated thread "tips and tricks", add your new post in that thread and go from there, so we could archive one thread for the use only, another thread could be dedicated to frequently asked questions, and so on, how does this sound people...

[This message has been edited by dvk (edited 12-13-2003).]

Joel
12-14-2003, 12:05 AM
It sounds excellent to me dvk. Might I suggest placing it on the Networking forum so it doesn't disappear?

Forrest Addy
12-14-2003, 12:28 AM
I dunno. It seems like these dedicated fora wind up as lairs for single interest experts and traps for the naive. Often plausible sounding tips become fads accepted by unwary lurkers who, when confounded by difficulty, fear to request assistance though the fault may not be theirs.

I often get emails from people I've never heard of asking for help off-forum. I enjoy helping them out but not so much if it's because they fell into a trap following someone's plausible sounding nonsense. I get irritated at the waste of time generated by someone who posts untested reccomendations so he can sound like an expert.

For example, plate glass used as a flatness reference is a recurring tip by the credulous when it fact unless the glass is inches thick it's too flexible for such a service even in a home machine shop. A cheap import granite flat for $30 is a much better choice.