PDA

View Full Version : Greetings & Punch Press Question

Skip Ellis
12-09-2010, 01:10 PM
Hi everyone - just joined up and am looking forward to learning a lot from you folks. I'm basically a woodworker and guitar builder but have gotten interested in doing some metal work and welding.

I'm also looking for suggestions on building a DIY "cheap" punch press for putting (6) - 3/16" holes in a 3" x 27" x 18ga galvanized mild steel sheet. I'm cutting the 27" pieces out of 3" x 10' stock with a 12" Northern Tool metal shear which is working fine, although it would be nice to cut and punch in one operation, but not sure if it's feasible. I will be making these on an ongoing basis. My present order is for 1400+/- pieces and I'm half way through by drilling 10 at a time in a jig with my drill press. Any suggestions on how this could be further automated on a budget?

Stepside
12-09-2010, 02:14 PM
We need a couple more bits of information to be of much help.

1) where are you? There are more options in a large city

2) accuracy and tolerance required for the size of hole and the location of holes

3) is the drilled hole good enough without removing a burr and is it round enough?

4) repeat job or once only?

Possibilities are a) let someone wear out their water jet cutter b) buy a 4 ton punch and make some fixtures to index and punch the holes. c) If not a repeat job and the quality is there, just finish the job d) find a shop with a CNC punch and have the parts done.

Ries
12-09-2010, 03:16 PM
Like the hot rodders used to say,
how fast you wanna go?
how much money you got?

And what direction will your work go in?

If you think it will stay with similar sized pieces of sheet metal
(ie, under 1/8" in thickness), then there are sheet metal punches and shears out there that will do this quickly and accurately.