PDA

View Full Version : why no classifieds?

rp designs
12-09-2010, 06:55 PM
Being a very hobby machinist I tend to buy a lot of second hand stuff. I amcurious as to why there isn't a classified section in this forum?

wierdscience
12-09-2010, 07:27 PM
I think because the mags sell classified ads and classifieds here would be free and not generate revenue.

It's been discussed here many times about allowing them,just hasn't happened yet.

sasquatch
12-09-2010, 07:32 PM
I agree a classified topic here would be interesting, however i,m sure the revenue generated for the magazines is needed, and i,m fine with that.

oldtiffie
12-09-2010, 07:41 PM
Leave well enough alone.

Its Village Press policy - and they don't have to give reasons.

Otherwise PM or email George Bulliss.

dp
12-09-2010, 07:53 PM
Selling new or used equipment via this site would cut into revenue of the people who pay for adverts in the VP dead tree media publications. That would discourage advertisers and that would hit the pocket book hard.

macona
12-09-2010, 08:01 PM
I dont think so. Not for non-commercial ads at least. I mean a guy selling a used albrecht chuck or a used VFD is not going to pay to advertise in the magazine. Paying to sell a $50 item is a no-go to begin with and then ad a month lead time before your ad even appears is a total deal killer in today's internet based world.

Even on bigger ticket items I can have them sold via ebay, craigslist, or other outlets in less time than even waiting for the next issue to come out.

So just sell over on PM.

dp
12-09-2010, 08:08 PM
Selling used Kurt vises in a classified has the potential to cut into sales of new Glacern vises, for example. If it isn't an actual bad practice it does look like a bad practice.

gda
12-09-2010, 08:11 PM
Having a sale section could also make the site money by increasing traffic and lead to more click troughs on banner ads.

Problem with selling on PM is that lots of hobby sized stuff does not make it on.

dp