PDA

View Full Version : compound slide position

jack3140
01-08-2011, 03:25 PM
is there a preferred angle for the compound slide for day to day use? i have mine set at 30 degs on my lathe

vpt
01-08-2011, 03:30 PM
Mine is always left at 29-30 as well.

rohart
01-08-2011, 03:41 PM
I can see why you two do that, but - and bear in mind I'm new to proper leadscrew lathes - my first priority is to know that tools I put in my toolpost will be cutting at 90 degrees, so I leave my compound at 90 degrees.

Today, I did need 30 degrees. But I needed thirty degrees the other way - to make a 30 degree point, not a socket.

With my plain lathe, I now have two crossslide units - one I keep at 90 degrees, because I have to have one that's as dead nuts straight as a bed would be, and the other is the go to for angles. This one has never been put on without my having to alter the angle, as far as I can remember.

jack3140
01-08-2011, 03:43 PM
Mine is always left at 29-30 as well.
i am trying to learn as much as i can being a newbie so much i dont know

jack3140
01-08-2011, 03:46 PM
I can see why you two do that, but - and bear in mind I'm new to proper leadscrew lathes - my first priority is to know that tools I put in my toolpost will be cutting at 90 degrees, so I leave my compound at 90 degrees.

Today, I did need 30 degrees. But I needed thirty degrees the other way - to make a 30 degree point, not a socket.

With my plain lathe, I now have two crossslide units - one I keep at 90 degrees, because I have to have one that's as dead nuts straight as a bed would be, and the other is the go to for angles. This one has never been put on without my having to alter the angle, as far as I can remember.
i do that thinking it gives me extra reach to stay away from the chuck guess how i learned that lol

krutch
01-08-2011, 04:22 PM