PDA

View Full Version : How fast can a lathe or mill be speeded up

yul m6
02-26-2011, 09:29 AM
I am a retired engineer whose last hands on experience with metal machining was a metal shop course in '67. I have been following this forum for a couple of months now, and it has been a valuable source of information.

I recently purchased a PM 45 mill and a 1236 lathe from Matt, based on the positive reviews he has here and elsewhere, and after paying him a visit (with a stop at grizzly on the way). I rented a 600 sf industrial space in Montreal where I am setting up my retirement hobby workshop.

I have already installed the machines and started making chips. I have done a few mods, namely:
X axis table feed
3 axis DRO on the mill, (he did not have it in stock).
Spindle DRO on the mill, the z axis DRO is useless imho.
Z axis lift motor.

I would like to add photos, but I have not figured it out yet.

Today I will be receiving a couple of 2 HP motors and two Hitachi sj200 vfds and my question is, based on your experience what would be a safe maximum speed to run the machines. Would 120 hz, i.e double the actual speed be OK, or is there a risk of some thing flying apart.

Davo J
02-26-2011, 10:04 AM
For the mill I would look on CNC zone. Just look a different machines with the 45 number as they are all the same machine but called different names. From memory one guy runs his up to 4000 rpm on standard taper bearings.
As for the lathe, mine is a 12 x 36 and goes up to 2000 rpm and I don't see a need to go any faster. One thing to think about is the maximum speed of the chucks, you may have to upgrade to a better quality one if you are going any faster.

Dave

RobbieKnobbie
02-26-2011, 10:21 AM
I agree, unless you're working on incredibly small stuff, I wouldn't worry about spinning them much faster, rather you'll end up usually running in the 25 to 60 Hz range.

Remember, you can always run a cutter slower than recomended, but you just about never want to run it faster.