PDA

View Full Version : Turning Large Work

S&S_ShovelHead
03-03-2011, 12:09 AM
I need to make two bushings out of UHMW plastic. I have a 10" X 4.1" peice of UHMW. The peices are to be 4" long, 0.25" is to be 4" OD, 3.75" is to be 3" OD with a bore of 1.9" running through the center. Im using a 10 X 22 lathe, The peice wont fit in my 3 or 4 jaw chuck when using normal jaws, when reversing them It will fit but I can only grip about 1/4" of peice and I can get it to turn strait. Also my steady rest wont fit such a big peice. Any tips of turning & parting these? I have little experience so Im at a loss. Thanks a ton.

Black_Moons
03-03-2011, 12:19 AM
You can use the center in the tailstock to help align it while holding it in the jaws... However UHMW is a nasty plastic, its soft, flows away, slippery.. I don't think you'll be able to really turn it iwth only 1/4" grip. Iv had chunks rip 1" of griped UHMW out of the chuck when I tryed to turn it a few inchs away from the chuck and took a reasonable cut. Left big jaw marks in it too.

madman
03-03-2011, 12:44 AM
Well saw out some soft jaws for youre work holding dilemna. Then weld add weld and so on chuck it up machine it true mount youre part(Harley??) and machine away. Good luck Mike

Westline
03-03-2011, 12:54 AM
I have used this before when I machined big pieces of nylotron.
Get any steel pipe that will fit over the piece ....bore it to have it run true.
Then just cut a slit in one side and use it over the piece in the chuck like a collet. It greatly improves your grip and no jaw marks.

RussZHC
03-03-2011, 01:46 AM
Bore it first (workpiece held stationary on the carriage), then hold it from the inside?
Or bore it first, inserts mandrel, use mandrel to turn to size, then hold it from inside (or leave it on mandrel to part...sacrificing a small fraction of the mandrel surface when you go through the UHMW) ?

S&S_ShovelHead
03-03-2011, 10:28 AM