PDA

View Full Version : Toolholder to high, How to correct?

kennyd4110
03-06-2011, 08:45 AM
I just bought this Aloris AXA-22 toolholder, My hope was that it would help doing chamfers and such without moving the compound. I spent a lot of money on this and the inserts, and thought I researched it well but it sits to high...

I use plenty of other AXA toolholders without a problem., the lathe is a Clausing 4900 series with a 10" swing.

Very much a newbie here so take it easy on me!

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/_nNA3irmemc4/TXOMLVpF9aI/AAAAAAAADxo/NaoxMqlYstc/s720/IMG_0826.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/_nNA3irmemc4/TXOMMxesOMI/AAAAAAAADxs/IOGTp0QriEg/s720/IMG_0827.jpg

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/_nNA3irmemc4/TXOMOPBmMtI/AAAAAAAADxw/1_yma4Na1Pg/s720/IMG_0828.jpg

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/_nNA3irmemc4/TXOMPYJowOI/AAAAAAAADx0/Hu6rsQoPqh4/s720/IMG_0829.jpg

Sportandmiah
03-06-2011, 08:56 AM
I'm assuming the toolholder is all the way down, so couldn't you just mill a little off the bottom of it? That would give you the extra room to move the toolholder down farther. Or maybe machine a spacer for the toolpost? Otherwise return for a different model.

hornluv
03-06-2011, 09:07 AM
That's an interesting looking tool. I would also suggest just milling a bit off the bottom, but only off the portion with the dovetails, since it doesn't look like you have much meat under the part with the insert (I assume that indexes to different positions) Anyway, mill away anything that sits on the compound and leave everything else. The tool holder may be hard or it may be soft, so you might want to start off with an end mill you aren't emotionally invested in :D

Sparky_NY
03-06-2011, 09:10 AM
Sometimes it is hard to judge measurements from a picture but what if you use the same size insert but in a thinner height? They are available in several different thicknesses, the one in the pic seems very thick.