PDA

View Full Version : Off-center turning

tlfamm
03-08-2011, 09:11 AM
Poster Westline has some images showing a fairly substantial (?) off-center rotating mass mounted in a lathe chuck:

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=39202&page=112

That doesn't seem to have been a problem for him - but what are some rough guidelines of speed and mass in off-center turning (beyond: keep it small; keep it slow)?

I've no experience to draw on, and would prefer not to learn the hard way :)

squirrel
03-08-2011, 09:43 AM
DO NOT duplicate that set up, its a widow maker.

If you need to turn off center use a 4 (independent) jaw chuck or a removeable jaw chuck with custom cut jaws for the part and very low RPM.

Westline
03-08-2011, 09:45 AM
Poster Westline has some images showing a fairly substantial (?) off-center rotating mass mounted in a lathe chuck:

That doesn't seem to have been a problem for him - but what are some rough guidelines of speed and mass in off-center turning (beyond: keep it small; keep it slow)?

I was a bit scared to do this but it worked fine.
Just to give you a idea of the size and speed the material was a 50mm long piece of 80mm mild steel round bar.
I tested on 125rpm . The of set was 15mm long brass round bar.
The hole I bored was 16mm ID.
Keep in mind, be very careful when you do this I had images of the thing popping out and crushing my foot running throught my head the whole time while doing this.

Richard Wilson
03-08-2011, 10:27 AM