PDA

View Full Version : Should a Becker be my first milling machine??

Josey
03-09-2011, 09:38 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am fairly new to the forum but I must say I have thoroughly enjoyed reading the threads. The information and knowledge that can be gained by "newbies", like myself, is incredible and for that I would like to thank you guys.

Like I stated I am sort of a "newbie" to the machining world. My profession is not in the metal industry. I do have an engineering degree and work in the construction industry. However, I do enjoy metal working. I have a shop where I fabricate a few things on the side mostly by welding. It is mostly a hobby I enjoy but it does come in handy on my small farm.

I do not have a lathe or mill but I am looking to purchase both and start learning the trade. Which, leads me to the reason I am writing this thread for any advice you guys might have. The machining that I would be doing/learning would be that of a hobbyist you might say. I really enjoy working with metal and fabricating things and I am excited about getting a couple of machines and expanding my knowledge and skills.

Presently my budget isn't that great and I have been searching for older machines (lathes or mills) that are bargain priced. I recently found a Becker No. 26 milling machine in an ad that would probably be in my price range. There are a couple pictures of it but they aren't great. However, the guy says it works well and everything is "tight". I haven't been able to find much on these machines. I know they are quite old as the company went out of business in the 20's or 30's I believe. I haven't even been able to find much about them on this site.