PDA

View Full Version : Lathe chuck alignment problem

DaveC
03-15-2011, 06:52 AM
Hi all,

I think I have a problem with the chuck in my lathe, although I am not sure what....

You will have to excuse my lack of terminology in the question, I am mostly self taught on the lathe and mill and definitely missing some terminology.

I have a Warco WM-180 lathe, it's not the mini lathe, but more like the next size up. It's just coming up for one year old and has had a fair amount of hobby work done on it, but nothing major and never really been 'put to the limit'....

Right, the problem I have.... Last night, and I have noticed this happening a lot more recently, I put some (aluminium) bar stock in the chuck, 20mm dia and about 60mm sticking out. It's new clean bar stock with no knocks or dents in it. I faced off the end no problem, but needed to turn it down to 18mm. Now I was only taking a light cuts, the first cut along the length starting at the end takes off a lot more on one side then it did the other and this got less and less one sided as I got closer to the chuck. It's as if the chuck is not holding the work parallel. Bit by bit I turned it down to 18mm, by this time it's an even cut all the way and far as I could tell with the micrometer the resulting part was parallel. I also needed to drill a 10mm hole down the centre, I used a centre drill first followed by a 10mm drill, this went fine with no obvious problems with alignment, especially with the centre drill.

I understand this was just bar stock and could be quite easily be not so round as it I would like, but it's just something that seems to happen more and more.

I have in the past had the chuck off and it's held on with 3 bolts. I have made sure the mating surfaces are spotless and clean and also made sure the surface of the jaws are spotless as well.