PDA

View Full Version : Poor Forum Performance - Ads.VillagePress.Com Suspected



EddyCurr
03-19-2011, 06:44 PM
I notice poor performance browsing HSM with FireFox.

There seems to be an issue with ads.villagepress.com and google-analytics.
The usual banner ads take some time before they display.

.

Sportandmiah
03-19-2011, 06:53 PM
I notice superior performance using Chrome, IE, Opera, etc. Try a different browser or update FF?

squirrel
03-19-2011, 07:08 PM
Its not just HSM other sites are doggin down, it might be cyber warfare stressing the system.

doctor demo
03-19-2011, 07:08 PM
I use F.Fox and things have been slow until just a few moments ago, now things are back to normal. Magically fixed right after I read this post.

Steve

JCHannum
03-19-2011, 07:21 PM
It comes and goes for me, and has been for the past day or so. It is much worse today.

A thread will be very slow to open or not open at all for several tries and will then open OK. It is probably due to whatever banner ad is in rotation. Some are OK, but one is causing the problem. PM had sort of a simlar problem a while back.

deanq
03-19-2011, 07:35 PM
It's been so slow the last two days that I just leave. It's taking forever to load a page. Sorta defeats the purpose of having ads.
Dean

demerrill
03-19-2011, 07:39 PM
Problems with VERY slow loading here also.

What is the function an purpose of the cookie being detected by Windows 7/6 4, Internet Explorer 8 (Protected Mode enabled by default) that I'm being warned of and normally reject.

David Merrill

rohart
03-19-2011, 07:54 PM
Very often on my Firefox HSM fails to load the first time. Hit Reload and up it comes. From then on it's no worse than it has been for the last few months.

Now ebay has started putting animated ads down the left of a page of listings. Scroll down that and you have to wait for the d**m thing ot redisplay before you can scroll on.

But everything's been slow the last four/five days.

SGW
03-19-2011, 08:14 PM
I use Firefox and haven't had a problem with sites loading. I have had a problem for the past few days with outgoing traffic, e.g. sending e-mail. That has been bog-slow.

If you want to test your theory that banner ads are the culprit, install the Ad-Aware plugin in FIrefox.

Mr Fixit
03-19-2011, 08:53 PM
I am using Chrome or Internet Explorer depends on which computer i'm on but they both seem to load real SLOW and any other sites I visit don't seem to have any problem which leads me to believe it is the adds or the server that the HSM is using. Not a techno just tossing out ideas.
HELP Moderators!!
Chris :)
Mr. Fixit in the family

J Tiers
03-19-2011, 09:37 PM
The forum is effectively DOWN......

Loading takes 3 to 5 minutes....... Yes, usung FF. And NO I am not going to change to anything else, FF is perfectly good everywhere but here/

Last night and this morning it didn't load at all, stalled on the advertisements.

v860rich
03-19-2011, 10:34 PM
No problems here or anywhere else!!!!

THANX RICH

People say I'm getting crankier as I get older. That's not it. I just find I enjoy annoying people a lot more now. Especially younger people!!!

Evan
03-19-2011, 10:34 PM
Cyber attacks are running way above average especially in the eastern part of the US and Europe. Italy is the worst hit.

I haven't been able to get on at all until this evening. Packet loss in North America is running almost 20% with the entire network running at only 79% of normal performance.

Elninio
03-19-2011, 10:51 PM
Its that piece of crap flash that's causing adds to load slow, not the adds themselves.

EddyCurr
03-19-2011, 11:02 PM
My experience is that other sites I navigate to are working as usual.

At HSM, the FF footer first displays "connecting to bbs.homeshopmachinist"
for perhaps a count of 20, followed by "connecting to ads.villagepress" for
another count of 20.

By now, the page is partially displayed, minus the two banner ads that usually
appear.

The footer then displays "transferring date from google-analytics" for another
count of 20. It goes though a couple more iterations of "connecting to
ads.villagepress" and "waiting for data" or "transferring data" until both banners
finally display.

So something close to 45-60 sec for every page refresh.

Meanwhile, popular auction sites, local/international media outlets, youtube
and other enthusiast forums do not seem adversely affected.

Current version of FF is 3.6.15. AV is Kaspersky 11 with latest updates.

.

SGW
03-20-2011, 07:20 AM
It could be because of the particular routing being used for your connection to the website. I continue to have no problem using FF to connect to this website.

Have you tried the AdAware plugin? (Note: I've got it disabled for HSM so I get the banner ads on this website, and they are not a problem for me.)

Evan
03-20-2011, 08:04 AM
It isn't the ad server. I haven't been able to get on this site except for a few minutes last evening in the last 48 hours. When I do a trace route it take a much longer series of hops than usual and then gives up with a host unreachable. I have Windows configured to not load the ads regardless of which browser I use.

Liger Zero
03-20-2011, 08:20 AM
Ad-Block is doing a wonderful job here. It's an addon for FF.

Aside from one three hour period of "down" I have seen no issues here.

lazlo
03-20-2011, 10:10 AM
I am using Chrome or Internet Explorer depends on which computer i'm on but they both seem to load real SLOW and any other sites I visit don't seem to have any problem which leads me to believe it is the adds or the server that the HSM is using.

I'm having the same problem -- Iron (Chrome) with ads blocked, but the site is really lagging.

vpt
03-20-2011, 11:02 AM
I get the same lag. I have two tabs open to browse the net. One for HSM and the other for all the other forums. With the HSM tab I will click on a thread or forum section and then go to the other tab and read other forums while I wait for HSM to load. Once it loads after about 3 minutes I come read what I want to read and then click on the next thread and go browse with the other tab again while I wait for HSM to load again.

sansbury
03-20-2011, 11:09 AM
For the record, I installed the BlockSite plugin for firefox, and when I blocked ads.villagepress.com, the pages load like greased lightning. I will happily un-block the ads when the problem is solved.

davidwdyer
03-20-2011, 11:24 AM
My problems began the last two days. The pages take for than two minutes to load. At this rate, I won't be able to participate much on this forum. No doubt there were changes made which are not compatible with many browsers.

I THINK IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE MANAGEMENT HERE TO NOT MAKE CHANGES LIKE WITHIS WITHOUT TESTING THEM FIRST.

I TOO SUSPECT THE ADS.

J Tiers
03-20-2011, 11:34 AM
It is apparently not browser related......

BOTH IE and FF show the exact same problem, which is a 1 to 3 minute delay in page loads.

BTW, I installed and enabled an adblocker add-on for FF, and the animated ads are merrily showing, albeit a LOT slower than usual. Apparently the blocking isn't universal.... and in any case the ad content isn't the problem, so I probably will uninstall it

As for cyber attacks, etc, this is the ONLY affected site, so I am calling this one "site-related", SPECIFIC to HSMBBS.

Evan
03-20-2011, 11:47 AM
It doesn't matter what browser it is and it isn't the ads. When the site is unreachable it indicates a problem in the network. That problem is probably in the ATT network which is where the trace route fails.

Here is what the trace looks like. I am on satellite so the 650 millsecond lags are normal. However there are much longer lags than that along the way and one router doesn't respond at step 16. It then reroutes and that route fails on the way to the server. Then the browser times out for me because of the added lag of the satellite.


C:\Documents and Settings\Evan>tracert bbs.homeshopmachinist.net

Tracing route to europa-0.villagepress.com [69.223.24.78]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms buffalo.setup [192.168.11.1]
2 601 ms 579 ms 592 ms 10.5.0.1
3 591 ms 678 ms 664 ms 10.102.254.254
4 589 ms 580 ms 657 ms 10.202.0.2
5 667 ms 560 ms 656 ms 96.63.16.17
6 584 ms 572 ms 642 ms m70.sprottshaw.com [207.102.1.70]
7 641 ms 668 ms 661 ms vancbc01gr01.bb.telus.com [154.11.4.97]
8 666 ms 678 ms 640 ms 204.225.243.22
9 585 ms 681 ms 642 ms te4-2.ccr01.sea02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.10.
45]
10 595 ms 680 ms 659 ms te7-4.ccr01.sea01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3.3
3]
11 632 ms 673 ms 1099 ms te7-4.ccr01.smf01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.40.
105]
12 * 626 ms 641 ms te3-2.ccr01.oak01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.45.
21]
13 626 ms 680 ms 659 ms te0-0-0-5.ccr22.sfo01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.29.250]
14 659 ms 665 ms 650 ms te7-4.ccr02.sjc01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.2.1
26]
15 643 ms 681 ms 641 ms te8-8.ccr02.sjc03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.41.
214]
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 715 ms 2948 ms 2492 ms 192.205.34.33
18 662 ms 640 ms 660 ms cr1.sffca.ip.att.net [12.122.137.206]
19 898 ms 680 ms 662 ms cr1.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.4.122]
20 734 ms 681 ms 657 ms cr81.dtrmi.ip.att.net [12.123.139.158]
21 840 ms 659 ms 664 ms gar5.dtrmi.ip.att.net [12.122.102.5]
22 732 ms 753 ms 1233 ms 12.86.46.130
23 12.86.46.130 reports: Destination host unreachable.

jugs
03-20-2011, 12:24 PM
I get the same lag. I have two tabs open to browse the net. One for HSM and the other for all the other forums. With the HSM tab I will click on a thread or forum section and then go to the other tab and read other forums while I wait for HSM to load. Once it loads after about 3 minutes I come read what I want to read and then click on the next thread and go browse with the other tab again while I wait for HSM to load again.

Ditto -
it took 57sec to load the above quote, so its speeding up :eek: .

Been slow for 2 days.

Is Gad-dafty waging Cyber war on us HSM's :D

john
:)

vpt
03-20-2011, 01:09 PM
Ditto -
it took 57sec to load the above quote, so its speeding up :eek: .

Been slow for 2 days.

Is Gad-dafty waging Cyber war on us HSM's :D

john
:)



At least the back button works fast. :D

Alistair Hosie
03-20-2011, 03:10 PM
I too am having trouble it comes up with a could not find site white page then press backpage and it's ok then press something you wish to read and it's our favourite blank page. Alistair

aboard_epsilon
03-20-2011, 03:11 PM
its probably the us military using all the bandwidth .. on one of doubya bushes tubes ..

is there a major US military base using on the same "tube"

thinking libya etc

all the best.markj

Mark K
03-20-2011, 03:18 PM
For whatever use it may be, I have had no difficulties at all the past several days. All site pages load with blazing speed.

Mac OSX 10.6.6 on an Intel-based machine, Safari browser, Road Runner cable.

No gloat, just fact.

Mark

jugs
03-20-2011, 03:22 PM
its probably the us military using all the bandwidth .. on one of doubya bushes tubes ..

is there a major US military base using on the same "tube"

thinking libya etc

all the best.markj


It's only on this site :mad: all others are working fast :confused:

john
:)

doctor demo
03-20-2011, 03:28 PM
I use F.Fox and things have been slow until just a few moments ago, now things are back to normal. Magically fixed right after I read this post.

Steve
Things are still fine and dandy here, AT&T must be having a rolling brown out of sorts. But Friday night and Saturday morning I was having the same problems You guys are now.

Steve

Tel
03-20-2011, 03:39 PM
I have the same problem here, several minutes to load any page (including the 'reply' page). Using FF. No other sites are affected.

lazarus
03-20-2011, 06:31 PM
I've had the same problem since friday night using FF-google, but when I switch to IE-google, it's fast as you can hit the button. It might be the FF 3-6-1.5, if some aren't updated they might not have the problems.

Ever since I used my right Durango to boot up a $1500 laptop, I don't try to figure these things out. I give it to the kids and they enjoy fixin the problems.

rmuell01
03-20-2011, 06:46 PM
Happening on Chrome as well.

jugs
03-20-2011, 06:48 PM
So what's happend since my last post (30) http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-confused005.gif (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php) the site is flying now http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-happy093.gif (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-happy093.gif (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)


john
:)

lazlo
03-20-2011, 06:50 PM
I've had the same problem since friday night using FF-google, but when I switch to IE-google, it's fast as you can hit the button. It might be the FF 3-6-1.5, if some aren't updated they might not have the problems.

It's some kind of server or routing issue. I'm running Chrome, FF and IE 8 side-by-side, and all three are badly lagging on a fat cable pipe. Every other site I visit is fast as usual.

lazlo
03-20-2011, 07:42 PM
Yeah, I'm back to normal speed too -- something just happened in the last 20 minutes.

Toolguy
03-20-2011, 07:58 PM
I was back to normal too, for a little bit - now it's slow as molasses again.:confused:

Rich Carlstedt
03-20-2011, 08:21 PM
I down loaded IE 9, the latest and greatest (they say)
and I never got through at all since Friday.
as soon as I changed URL's it smokes

Can finally log on Sunday night at 7 PM CDT
This from Green Bay Wisconsin

Rich

Evan nailed it

rohart
03-20-2011, 08:24 PM
Well I've been slow as anything for the whole of this evening, and I agree that it's the ads that are causing the trouble. I sometimes use an outdated adblocker called Proxomitron. When I enable it, HSM loads pretty fast, without the ads.

Weston Bye
03-20-2011, 08:28 PM
VP's other BBS http://bbs.livesteam.net/ is similarly slow. Kinda sporadic, like this one.

TR
03-20-2011, 08:53 PM
super slow for the last 3 days.

Ads.VillagePress.Com Suspected

lazlo
03-20-2011, 09:14 PM
Ack, it got slow again.

sansbury
03-20-2011, 09:16 PM
It doesn't matter what browser it is and it isn't the ads.

And yet, blocking ads.villagepress.com cuts my page load times by a factor of 3-5x.

Arcane
03-20-2011, 10:17 PM
I just installed Adblock Plus for Firefox and I can access the site as I used to be able to...a second or less for a page to load. Testing by disabling the blocker returns me to the 30 second plus times for loading the page.

Evan
03-20-2011, 10:21 PM
I have ads blocked and I have only been able to get on a few times in the last 3 days since Thurs evening. Blocking ads will speed up load times but it isn't the problem.

J Tiers
03-20-2011, 11:51 PM
Suddenly it is SCREAMING FAST.... OK with me.....

Woops..... just as suddenly it turned even slower than before...... THAT was fast...... 5 min of really fast, then "back on your head".....

dp
03-21-2011, 12:01 AM
The problem is the villagepress.com DNS has bbs.homeshopmachinist.net in a round robin configuration with another IP and there's no BBS at that other IP. So about half the time you're sent to the wrong IP. To add to the problem the time to live for the DNS record is about 5 minutes which means your desktop will do a DNS lookup that often and that is about as often as you'll see the problem.

In the listing below the 69.223.24.100 IP is currently attached to the BBS. The other IP is the historically correct IP but is no longer attached to a BBS. It may be some load leveling going on but I doubt it. They've had bad DNS problems before.

For now putting the 69.223.24.100 in your local host table will solve the problem. Until they change the IP again :)

bash-3.2$ nslookup bbs.homeshopmachinist.net
Server: 192.168.1.13
Address: 192.168.1.13#53

Non-authoritative answer:
bbs.homeshopmachinist.net canonical name = europa0.villagepress.com.

Name: europa-0.villagepress.com
Address: 69.223.24.78

Name: europa-0.villagepress.com
Address: 69.223.24.100

PeteF
03-21-2011, 12:29 AM
That might explain some "weirdness" that was going on my end. The past 2 days I was in Hong Kong, and initially was browsing the site without issue. It seemed slow, but couldn't conclude anything from that as I wasn't at my usual location. Suddenly however the site couldn't be found by the local router at all, even trying through Google links etc came up with an error message on an invalid address, yet all other sites worked just fine. The following day all was well again and it worked just fine!

All very strange!

Evan
03-21-2011, 12:49 AM
That is part of the problem but it isn't all of it. I was using the .78 address in the hosts table and it worked up til thursday. After that I couldn't get to any Village Press site, not just the BBS. I also have the system set to not cache bad lookups which forces it to query DNS every time if it didn't work the last time.

If you look at the trace route I posted thare are some really slow nodes in the system before you get to this site.

dp
03-21-2011, 12:56 AM
I hadn't seen the problem earlier than an hour or so ago so my best guess is DNS is the problem tonight. My experience in how this particular problem comes about is they are doing maintenance on one or more systems and shifting resources around and when that happens right it causes weirdness that differes geographically. Done wrong it becomes unpredictable. What is going on now is just wrong :)

Nice job on the telescope!

wierdscience
03-21-2011, 01:01 AM
The BBS has been loading slow here since last week too,but I have also noticed that several other webpages I vist are also slow while the rest are behaving normally.

neksmerj
03-21-2011, 01:43 AM
I'm in Australia, and have a problem here as well.

When loading up a page, it can take up to 30 seconds.
It seems to hang on ads.villagepress.com

This is so annoying, if I don't have the patience to wait, I switch back to another forum.

Administrators, please fix the problem.

Ken

Tel
03-21-2011, 04:08 AM
I got around it with Ad Blocker - good as gold now

hareng
03-21-2011, 05:18 AM
At last first time in days been able to get this site up, even though says logged in at 8.37pm last night - no way. Coulnt get off my homepage.

Its just taken me 6 mins to get to this page, now will this go through.

TR
03-21-2011, 05:23 AM
still super slow :(

George Bulliss
03-21-2011, 08:09 AM
Iíve passed this info on to the IT department to check out. Let me know if the problems continue.

George

JCHannum
03-21-2011, 09:54 AM
All is good on my end now.

dp
03-21-2011, 10:09 AM
The DNS problem is corrected this morning. Looks like the 69.223.24.100 address won this time.

AiR_GuNNeR
03-21-2011, 10:37 AM
Back to normal for me and FF.

Toolguy
03-21-2011, 10:40 AM
Mine is running quick and easy today.

lazlo
03-21-2011, 11:27 AM
Yup, this morning everything seems back to normal.