PDA

View Full Version : More difficult work and hands held

J Tiers
04-16-2011, 11:44 AM
On a related subject to the JS thread on plans......

I see often where someone is looking to have some work done by another person, or wants to buy a part, and says " I'd do that but my skills/experience are not up to it yet".

Well, that may be true.... everyone can get better skills, even if they are very skilled. And people who are starting may not have skills and experience.

The real question is: "and just how do you plan to OBTAIN those skills?"

Myself, I had used hand tools since I was a kid, and when I started doing machine work I had no idea that some stuff was "too hard for someone just starting out", so I went ahead and did things if I needed to.

The result is that I got better at doing the work. I could learn a ton more, of course. Anyone can, and I am basically an amateur at machine work, with no formal training whatsoever.

But it seems that the best way to GET the skills and experience is to simply DO whatever comes up as needing to be done, as and when it comes up.

I think that is a universal rule.... even in electrical engineering, which I DO have formal training and a "degree" in, there are things which I know little about, or in some cases "used to" know little about. But when the need came up to do them, I just went ahead and learned what I needed, and got it done.

The same works for machining..... if you need to make a bearing fit very close, or a morse taper, tool arbor, etc, DO IT. Maybe you screw up a piece or two, and when you are done, you will know how to get it done.

And once you do one new thing and get it done, you will feel more confident about starting another thing that you have never done before.

John Stevenson
04-16-2011, 12:55 PM
OK, I'll answer Jerry on this and it make make you feel better.