PDA

View Full Version : Carbide Insert Thickness

Dennis WA
04-24-2011, 04:25 AM
As a newbie I would appreciate some help please.

I have a set of 3/4" shank M100 DEX toolholders that I use on my Colchester Student. They were supplied with CCMT 31.51 inserts (ISO equivalent CCMT 090204) retained by a torx T15 screw.

I try to keep my costs down, but these inserts are not too common on eBay - is it possible to use a thicker insert such as the commonly available CCMT32.51, (ISO CCMT 0903XX or CCMT 09T3XX)?

ANSI - ISO - THICKNESS
1.5 - 02 - 0.094" (3/32" or 2.38mm)
n/a - T2 - 0.109" (7/64" or 2.78mm)
2 - 03 - 0.125" (1/8" or 3.18mm)
2.5 -T3 - 0.156" (5/32" or 3.97mm)

Many Thanks
Dennis

MrSleepy
04-24-2011, 05:29 AM
How will the extra thickness affect the centre line...do you pack your m100s to get the right height..or are they set to the right height.

I have noticed that many Ebay sellers package 25mm x 25mm (or larger) insert holders with a couple of packs of inserts for a price only slightly higher that you'd pay for the inserts alone.
And its an easy job to remove metal from the bottom of the holder to get the centerlines to match.

Sometime ago ..Evan posted a great thread on using cermet inserts.. and I was able to get two boxes of tungaloy cnmg inserts with a larger than needed holder for essentially the value of the inserts...and 10 minutes of milling made it into a useable and very solid holder.

Rob

PixMan
04-24-2011, 06:47 AM
That is a very rare, almost proprietary insert. Ouch. I had no idea they existed, and am quite surprised that Micro 100 would use them. OTOH, since they don't make inserts (that I know of), it behooves them to make tooling that you have to go back to them to buy replacement.