PDA

View Full Version : South Bend 9" spindle maintenance, r/r

Evan
05-26-2011, 02:59 PM
I have been using my SB9 for about 30 years and it was in need of a new belt. I have never pulled the spindle so I figured I would kill two birds with one brick. By pulling the spindle I could replace the belt with an uncut/unglued serpentine belt, check out the spindle and replace the oiler felts at the same time.

Removing the spindle is an easy job. It takes all of 15 minutes and doesn't mess up any alignments. Before I did that I made some new shims in case I needed to adjust the clearance. It's a perfect job for CNC although it isn't very hard to do by hand, just tedious.

I stacked up a bunch of different thicknesses of brass shim stock, screwed them together on a board and cut them out with a very slow feed and a carbide cutter. They came out perfectly. Included at the bottom of these first 4 images is a scale pattern for the shims.

http://ixian.ca/pics8/spindle1.jpg

You can download a dxf file of the shims pattern here:

http://ixian.ca/pics8/sb9_shims.dxf

The first step in removing the spindle is to unplug the machine and remove the chuck. Next remove the gear cover by loosening the grub screw and lifting it off.

Then remove any gears on the banjo and the lead screw. Tip the banjo up so you can access the two screws holding on the circular guard, remove it and set it aside. Tip the banjo back and out of the way.

Refer to the next image and remove the indicated screws. The reverse gear toggle assembly pulls out of its socket in the head stock after the square head grub screw is removed. Remove the locking screw on the threaded spindle collar and unscrew it from the left of the spindle.