PDA

View Full Version : Hello. Blind Pig here...

QSIMDO
06-26-2011, 01:20 PM
Found an acorn yesterday and thought I'd share since it's a rather common problem.

Thanks to new lighting on my low cost import lathe I was suddenly aware of a significant amount of vertical movement on my cross slide while trying to part some SS.
I could now see the way oil squishing in & out from under the cross slide.

This movement had heretofore gone undetected but my parting operations were as scary as others have reported so I just thought parting was a b***h and that's the way of it.

Tightening the gib strip made no improvement whatsoever so off with the cross slide and onto the surface plate where bluing showed a total of maybe one lousy square inch total of contact over the entire area!

Before reading further, understand I'm a hobby machine operator who just enjoys making swarf and occasionally finding something useful left in the chuck, OK?
OK, so, with no surface grinder of accuracy available to me and scraping skills best suited for layers of of paint I did what turned out to be a damn good solution.

Sand paper and the surface plate.

Worked a TREAT!

I can now part nearly as fast as I can turn the handle, absolutely no ripples when normal turning or any tool dragging when cranking back.

No recommendations here, just a happy guy reporting what worked for me!

RB211
06-26-2011, 01:43 PM
I have a feeling that almost every sub 2000$ import lathe on the market needs to be inspected the same and have done to it what you did. Scary to think just how "off" some of these machines can be!

Black_Moons
06-26-2011, 04:55 PM
Sandpaper on a surface plate is a good way to get stuff flat.. However ,May not get stuff into alignment. take GREAT care with such methods. And idealy wipe the hell outta the surface afterwards to get as much grit outta the cast iron as yo ucan.

DATo
06-26-2011, 05:20 PM