PDA

View Full Version : 3D Taster holder



Black Forest
08-01-2011, 03:40 AM
I bought a 3D Taster. It is great to find the X and Y but not so easy to find the Z height in relation to the tool height. Our friend Nick sent me a picture of how he uses his to find the tool height.

Basically he mounts a dial indicator in a block of steel and then zero's on the top of the block with the 3D taster and then mounts his tool and brings it down until the Dial Indicator in the block zeros. Then he has the difference between the tool and the 3d taster.

So now I build the Dial Indicator holder. It is just a block of steel with a hole in it to hold the DI.
http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/ab91/burnandreturn/DIholder2.jpg
http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/ab91/burnandreturn/DIholder.jpg

RTPBurnsville
08-01-2011, 08:51 AM
If you are using a R-8 spindle check out the holders from Tormach. The TTS concept works great for such things.

Robert

Black Forest
08-01-2011, 09:24 AM
My mill has a SK 40 spindle.

These are the two pictures Nick sent me.
http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/ab91/burnandreturn/wzl3.jpg
http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/ab91/burnandreturn/wzl4.jpg

Black Forest
08-01-2011, 12:23 PM
It should read Dial Indicator holder to be used for determining tool height with a 3d taster.

Sorry for the misdirection.

lynnl
08-01-2011, 01:49 PM
Do you mean "taster", ...or "tester?"

I was expecting some sort of culinary discussion. :)

MrSleepy
08-01-2011, 01:55 PM
Taster is correct..

http://www.haimer.com/english/taster-digital.php

http://www.haimer.com/images/3D-Taster_Digital.jpg

Rob

lynnl
08-01-2011, 02:38 PM
Taster is correct..

Rob

Well I'll be John Brown!

And I thought I knew everything. What a heartbreak!

loose nut
08-01-2011, 02:44 PM
Taster, think German not English.

I bought one a couple of years ago, they are sweet. You can also use them as a depth gauge to measure the difference in height of steps on a workpiece.

justanengineer
08-01-2011, 03:58 PM
And here I was thinking he had a machine mounted can holder or tv dinner tray! I do learn something new every day.

Black Forest
08-02-2011, 01:58 PM
Those of you that said you use a 3d taster, how do you all use it to set the height of a tool relative to the work?

mochinist
08-02-2011, 02:28 PM
Are you using this on a manual machine? If so seems like you are adding a extra step, I just touch my tools off the part. On the cnc's I set all the tools off a gauge block or a tool setter, whichever is closer, but have never found the need on a manual machine. Maybe I'm confused what you are doing with it though.:confused:

Ridgerunner
08-02-2011, 09:25 PM
Those of you that said you use a 3d taster, how do you all use it to set the height of a tool relative to the work?

I am fortunate to also own a 3d taster but don't use it to set tool heights with. Personally, I use a Mitutoyo zero setter (http://www.amazon.com/Mitutoyo-950-111-Setter-0005-Height/dp/B002SG7R1O) (lower left in picture). Just place it on the work and lower the tool until the dial reads zero. The tool is now 1 inch above the work. On my machine I then just add 1 inch to the z number in the tool length offset menu. They have a less expensive version here (http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-MAGNETIC-Z-AXIS-DIAL-SETTER-0004-GAGE-GAUGE-CNC-/230653752851?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35b408f613). I would imagine there is a metric version somewhere.
Edit >metric version (http://cgi.ebay.com/MAGNETIC-Z-AXIS-DIAL-SETTER-METRIC-RANGE-0-2-x-0-01-MM-/300529764527)

http://i1122.photobucket.com/albums/l539/ridgerunner1212/3d-taster.jpg

macona
08-02-2011, 09:40 PM
I have the same Mitutoyo height setter. Paid $65 for it at an auction. It is a great time saver.

Black Forest
08-03-2011, 10:18 AM
My plan is to put this block with the DI in it and lower the 3d Taster down onto the flat top not the stem of the DI until the 3d taster zero's and then zero the z axis. Then put the tool of choice in the spindle and lower it down onto the stem until it zero's. Now I know the difference between the tool and the 3d taster. So anytime in the future when I am using the 3d taster to locate on a part I can also zero the z axis and whatever tool I choose that I have premeasured I know the offset. I plan to keep a list of the offsets for the various tools that stay mounted in a tool holder.

Maybe I am missing something but I think it will save some time. Not a lot but every little bit helps.
http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/ab91/burnandreturn/DIholder3-1.jpg