PDA

View Full Version : Older Hammond tool grinder, worth buying?

T.Hoffman
08-01-2011, 11:17 PM
I have no grinder other than a simple two-wheel bench grinder. Thought it would be nice to have something better for expanding my capabilities in the future.

But I'm a complete newb when it comes to tool grinders. I ran across this Hammond on CL, and wondering if anyone here has tinkered with such a unit. Here's some pics:

http://images.craigslist.org/3k43pa3l65V65O05U2b811ee7767fc8aa1271.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3ma3pd3l95O65T05R3b81c4097a8777681f70.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3m53oc3p05Z25P15X3b81ed5661b431f01ed4.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3kf3pe3o25Y15X55S5b819f4b65e934e81faf.jpg

Looks like quite a project, but if the price is right would this be something I should be considering?

T.Hoffman
08-02-2011, 12:16 AM
After doing some more digging around the internet, it looks like this is Hammond CB-77B model.

This is from a different auction (same model) with cracked mount, but provides much better pictures to see more details of the machine:

http://img.orbitbid.com/2011/03/01/P2250206.JPG

http://img.orbitbid.com/2011/03/01/P2250207.JPG

http://img.orbitbid.com/2011/03/01/P2250208.JPG

http://img.orbitbid.com/2011/03/01/P2250210.JPG

doctor demo
08-02-2011, 12:34 AM
It all depends how much the guy wants for it , and how bad you want it.
I'd probably go for it but....er ah... hello my name is Steve, and I'm a tool-a-holic.

Steve

T.Hoffman
08-02-2011, 01:07 AM
he's asking $275 in the ad.

But I haven't talked to the seller yet to find out how functual it is, or if anything is wrong with it.

How bad do I want it? Well, I've never had (or used) something like this before, so I'm not sure how much I would use it. Right now I don't even have the right grinding wheel to do lathe bits.

JoeFin
08-02-2011, 01:17 AM
For the money - sounds like a good investment