PDA

View Full Version : Shifer assembly

Smokedaddy
08-29-2011, 12:05 AM
I was asked if I would shorten this. It's a shift linage assembly for a BMW. It is probably pot metal, it is not magnetic. Looking for some suggestions on modifying it, if you have any.

http://i688.photobucket.com/albums/vv241/TheOriginalSquattingDog/aaP8280096aa.jpg

-SD:

PS: ... can't spell either.

PixMan
08-29-2011, 12:34 AM
Knowing BMW, that's probably cast aluminum. Taking 4" out of it should be no problem. Fastening it back together afterward, not so much. ;)

I think you could get it quite strong if you could make up little tie bars to lie in the U-channel, then screw through the wall into your new tie bars. Does the part have that channel on both sides?

The easiest thing, if it is aluminum, might be to find a good TIG welder.

Smokedaddy
08-29-2011, 01:12 AM
I am a TIG welder, just never welded aluminum and I don't have a HF machine anyway. It might be cast Magnesium too, dunno. Yes, there is a channel on both sides (it's like a small I beam). I wonder if something like Dura Fix would work, use some of the scrap that I cut out and make flats to weld in the channels with Dura Fix.

wierdscience
08-29-2011, 01:16 AM
BMW is also very fond of Magnesium,so you might want to do some simple tests before whipping out the TIG torch.Scrape a small pile of shavings off with a knife and see if they light with a match.

CCWKen
08-29-2011, 01:52 AM
It doesn't look like it would be that hard to make one of those from scratch. Even as a weldment--Keep the original as is. A single bar with a forged flat for the ball and you're halfway there. The pivot can be turned down. Think about duplicating the function, not the form.

I doubt that's pot metal. Either aluminum or mag alloy. Ditto doing a mag test though if you plan to weld. Magnesium doesn't stop burning until it's gone. :eek:

A.K. Boomer
08-29-2011, 09:14 AM