PDA

View Full Version : New Member / Powermatic Lathe

hemmjo
09-26-2011, 09:46 AM
I am a new member. I found this forum while searching for information about a 1970's model Powermatic Lathe. I may be able to get one for hauling it away. I do not any heavy lifting capability and cannot afford to rent anything so I need to disassemble as much as possible to move it.

I am a retired industrial technology teacher. This machine was in the shop I used to have classes in. It was new in the mid 70's and was well cared for and in excellent shape when I left for a new position in the mid 90's. Since I left, I have no idea how it was abused, but most recently is was stored for 2 years in an big UNHEATED steel shipping container along with the rest of the machinery from the shop. I was contacted and asked if I want to haul it away, I did not hesitate to say __LL YES. I wish they would have let me take it 2 years ago when I first asked for it, before it had time to rust while in storage.

I do not know the model number of the lathe, but I found a photo of one that looks just like it online at this URL;

http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/topic/115773/gonew/1

(I did not see how to put photos directly into this message, can I do that?)

As I recall the swing was at least 10, maybe 12 inches. The spindle bore would accept 1" stock but not much larger. Will be able to get the specs. and model number soon.

I anticipate taking it apart as much as possible to get it small enough to move without equipment. I will be setting it back up in my basement.

I have a few questions.

Am I correct in assuming that disassembly will not be difficult, just heavy components?

I assume the ways will be the heaviest single part, how much do you figure that casting will weigh?

What is the best way to get rid of the rust off of the ways and get them back into good working order?