PDA

View Full Version : One for the knife makers - handle riveting

Stuart Br
10-07-2011, 10:04 AM
In the everlasting task of pursuing domestic harmony, I have another task that will keep me on the straight and narrow and help justify the investment in my shop.

We have a number of kitchen knives on which the handles appear to have been riveted with some form of Aluminum alloy.
After frequent cleaning in the dishwasher, the rivets are being "eaten away" and the handles are getting loose.

I would like to replace these with brass rivets, which should be "dishwasher proof".
Is there any particular grade of brass I should be looking for? Any hints or tips on setting the rivets?

I did do quite a bit of riveting with aluminum when I was an apprentice some 30 years ago, but I haven't done any since.

Thanks

Stuart

gwilson
10-07-2011, 10:10 AM
I just use regular 360 alloy brass(which seems to be he main alloy available).

You should never wash them in hot water at all.
it takes the edges off .

gizmo2
10-07-2011, 10:16 AM
Cutler's rivets come in different lengths, but the heads are all the same diameter. I made my counterbore from a wood screw set thingy drill (sorry for the technical talk, sometimes I just can't help myself) I got my rivets from Indian Ridge Traders which was bought out by Koval Knives which was purchased by Jantz Supply. Leave enough room in the hole for the rivet to swell and not split the handle material, and pick the rivet closest to the finished length and all should be well.

PTSideshow
10-07-2011, 10:21 AM
Lee valley is were I get mine they had a number of lengths etc. leevalley (http://www.leevalley.com/en/) You might try woodcraft (http://www.woodcraft.com) since they sell the stepped rivet drill for their knife kits.

spongerich
10-07-2011, 10:59 AM
Not to take this OT, but you really shouldn't be putting knives in the dish washer. It's hell on the handles and the edges take a beating too.

Stuart Br
10-07-2011, 11:15 AM