PDA

View Full Version : Acme Tap, help required ***Warning machining content

DFMiller
10-16-2011, 06:41 PM
I am trying to make an Acme Tap to make some Delrin nuts. Yes I have read about the alternate methods. But I want to try this one out for comparison.

Using some leadscrew material. 1/2" Acme. I have a 10 degree taper on the lead-in
http://i560.photobucket.com/albums/ss47/ve7pke/Delrin%20Nuts/Acme%20Tap/IMG-20111016-00002.jpg

I have made it into 3 flutes using a 1/8? Ball nosed mill
http://i560.photobucket.com/albums/ss47/ve7pke/Delrin%20Nuts/Acme%20Tap/IMG-20111016-00003.jpg

When I try to tap it will not feed into the material. It will go for a bit then will not feed. I am tapping by hand in lathe with tap in tailstock and winding by hand. Some firm pressure to start.

I assume the issue is that I need to make the grooves bigger as I think there is too much material left on the tap.

I would have made the grooves bigger but could not find a larger Ball nosed mill handy.

Or I guess I could put some relief on the tap with a grinder.

I have tried a couple of different diameter holes and and at 0.401" and still no better

Thanks
Dave

DR
10-16-2011, 06:47 PM
You need to relieve behind the cutting edges.

As it is, all you're doing is rubbing.

Take a very close look at a commercially made tap and you'll see what needs to be done.

Tel
10-16-2011, 06:52 PM
Yes, the flutes need to be bigger in relation to the size of the tap - be worth buying a cheap ball nose to do the job. This is an M8 tap I did

http://richontools.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=15_59

http://inlinethumb51.webshots.com/46706/2200736980105506259S500x500Q85.jpg (http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2200736980105506259niCJfz)

http://inlinethumb62.webshots.com/47997/2365852090105506259S500x500Q85.jpg (http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2365852090105506259HGIYOe)

DFMiller
10-16-2011, 07:12 PM