PDA

View Full Version : 21.51 vs 32.52 Inserts

gordsgarage
10-16-2011, 10:14 PM
Being the self taught "machinist" I am I often struggle to trying to figure out concepts that are probably fairly elementary to most.

With my home lathe I work with tooling that accepts CCGT inserts. The inserts that I am running are CCGT-21.51 and work great for the work I do. My confunsion comes from trying to determine when to use a 21.51 vs a 32.52. I somewhat understand the differences based purely from the specs however I fail to understand what application is best suited for each.

Is anyone able to dumb this down for me?

Thanks!
Gord

beanbag
10-16-2011, 10:18 PM
I'm assuming you mean 32.51, which has the same nose radius. The only reason is if you want to take deeper or bigger cuts.

JoeFin
10-16-2011, 10:37 PM
You'll need to keep at it with the insert types.

Different manufactures differ slightly in thier normenclature of insert geometries but the numerical size standards hold quite true. I stopped trying to cross manufactures of insert holders vs: inserts some time ago as they didn't fit correctly more often then not. If its a Kennemetal Tool, I'll buy Kennemetal inserts for it.

As for lathe tooling I build my own tool holders and look up the manufacture's literature on the inserts. I usually look for decent quantities of 30 inserts or more on Eboner for a good price and then cross-reference the manufacture's literature to see if they are a good fit for the application. I have probably 5 - 600 inserts in the drawr and 10 or so tools I've made and can always find what I need to make the right cut.

danlb
10-16-2011, 10:51 PM
Being the slef taught "machinist" I am I often struggle to trying to figure out concepts that are probably fairly elementary to most.