PDA

View Full Version : Mill/drill or full on mill?

Frank46
12-05-2011, 11:46 PM
Been looking through the various catalogs on the difrferent types of mills. I have no pervious experience in the operation of these machines. Should I go fo a mill/drill combo or would it would be better if I purchased mill?. Any comments and/or suggestions are greatly apperciated. Frank

darryl
12-05-2011, 11:53 PM
What will you be doing with it, and how much are you willing to spend?

justanengineer
12-06-2011, 12:07 AM
Machines geared toward the home shop - typically smaller, lighter (NOT a good thing), fewer options, lower quality, and IMHO all this leads to a tool that is more difficult to use. These machines also tend to be equal if not higher in initial price yet significantly lower (in some areas non-existant) in resale value. Parts and warranties do exist, but neither of these should be necessary IMHO except in extreme situations. Also likely to get you teased or frowned upon by older generations and/or die-hard "domestic buyers."

"Retired" professional machines if found in decent shape at an average price - equal or lower initial cost, hold or increase value, high quality, heavy (possibly painful to move, but super rigid = nice finish), more options (simplify operations), and definitely have a "cool" factor.

Buy bigger than you need. Its simple to do small work on a big machine, not so much the reverse.

Im starting the popcorn now. Let the games/flaming begin...

flylo
12-06-2011, 12:39 AM