PDA

View Full Version : Boring bar tooling selection

skipd1
12-29-2011, 04:50 PM
I have a older 9" southbend lathe and although I have aquired some cutting tools and holders I have nothing for boring yet. I have a Aloris style (AXA) tool holder with several quick change tool holders and a couple of boring bar holders (1/2in.) I like using HSS tooling so I would lean towards those. I have also seen HSS inserts for boring and cutting tools. Is that a good solution? I don't plan to bore anything too large, but being I am just starting out with this machine, I don't really know where it will take me.

Regards
Skip

Boucher
12-29-2011, 05:23 PM
These Everede boring bars work well and are easy to sharpen due to the shape of the HSS bit.
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n50/boucherbyron/IMG_0135Small.jpg

There is not anything wrong with the cheaper bars that take the smaller square HSS bits.

The old HSS bars particularly the ones with cobalt alloy were very functional but they seem to be getting harder to find.

loose nut
12-29-2011, 06:43 PM
For shorter jobs the boring bars used in mill boring heads work great in a lathe, very stiff and easy to sharpen. Just grind on the end. Use the HSS ones not the carbide.

RussZHC
12-30-2011, 12:39 AM
Be aware of the Everede bars.

Not saying they are good or bad, I've only got a single unused as of yet 1/2 solid, insert style.

Just my opinion based on information I have found but some of the bars need inserts that seem very difficult to find (insert style) or are to some degree proprietary...just an opinion which I think has to do with the way the pocket is shaped but I'm not certain on that; the cutting bits used for a lathe are most often (?) square/rectangular, sometimes round (home made boring bars as its easier to make a round hole than a square one, ?) but the ones for Everede boring bars are triangular (these are not insert style).