PDA

View Full Version : Sketchup

daveo
01-20-2012, 04:11 PM
Before I download Google Sketchup and sink a bunch of time in it, does Sketchup have any practical purpose?

As in, will it make drawings of basic parts and dimension them for a Cam program... Curious, I see a few people using it. I guess im curious to see what everyone else is using it for:D

Gunney
01-20-2012, 04:41 PM
I have been using Sketchup for a couple of months now and really like it. I use it for designing stuff I'm making, and then for printing out dimensioned drawings. I don't know if the free version will interface with CAM packages, but there are some others here who may know. One thing I will say, though, is that if you have previous experience with CAD packages, Sketchup is not at all intuitive. Once I got used to it, though, I was ecstatic about what all it could do with respect to its price (free). I bought a PDF book titled "Sketchup Guide for Woodworkers" from Taunton Press that saved me untold hours of frustration.

Peter.
01-20-2012, 04:55 PM
I use it all the time to produce method statements and sequence-of-work documents in demolition. For that, it's brilliant.

Evan
01-20-2012, 07:42 PM
The spider that I used in my fan assembly I posted a couple of days ago was drawn in Sketchup, exported to DXF, imported to CamBam and cut from aluminum on my CNC mill. Design time was a few minutes. I could have designed it in CamBam but Sketchup was faster and easier.

I'll be posting a rather much more complex project either tonight or tomorrow which is entirely designed in Sketchup complete to the last screw. You will be able to download the model from the 3D Warehouse. I routinely do all my designing in Sketchup and always work to .0001 tolerance in the drawings even though that may not be the build tolerance.