PDA

View Full Version : Rotary abrasive tumbler?

flylo
01-23-2012, 12:49 AM
I want to build a round vertical abrasive tumbler for cleaning small parts. I have a wire feeder from my plasma spray equipment that has a powerful variable speed motor that goes quite slow to fairly fast. I can easily convert the round reel to make it enclosed. It's about 12"-16" wide about 24"-30" in dia. & has tubes across about every 8" that would act like agitators. What media should I use. Years ago in high school I worked in a shop rebuilding starters,etc & we had a vibrator that used 1-2" stone like media along with a chemical. I want to do this dry & wondered if pea gravel would work or if I need something sharper, mainly for getting rust & paint off small parts, bolts,etc. I don't want to change it from a wire feeder so I thought about rolling some heavy sheet metal around it & make the door between the tubes(aprox an 8"x14" door).Thanks for any ideas! Eric

duckman
01-23-2012, 01:00 AM
I'm confused a round vertical will not tumble or agitate the stuff in side, did you mean a horizontal axle like a ferris wheel, yes it will work but I would line the in side with a rubber or urethane coating.

Black_Moons
01-23-2012, 02:15 AM
Don't use gravel, Buy some real abrasives, theres dozens of diffrent types depending on exactly what you want, and they cost on the order of $10~50 for a 50lb *drum*, Hardly worth trying to save money on.

Also, Id wonder if this motor is part of your plasma spray equipment, is it something you would rather.. Not see burnt out?

You'd probley be better off with some variable voltage power supply and a power window motor, or somesuch, if you care at all about the plasma sprayer.

flylo
01-23-2012, 06:14 AM
Yes horiz shaft & I don't think I'll hurt this I just want to be able tp put it back to it original state as a wire feeder. maybe just make a new drum from a small plastic drum.