PDA

View Full Version : Tapping head info.

DICKEYBIRD
01-25-2012, 08:37 AM
Got another job coming up that involves drilling & tapping a couple hundred hundred 1/8 N.P.T. blind holes in aluminum. I've been wanting a tapping head anyway and now looks like the time to get serious about finding one.

I have no knowledge of these devices and need to learn. How does the auto reverse function work, ie: is there an adjustable depth stop that it hits & reverses or is it torque related? What brand & size would be recommended to do the above job? Anybody got a good extra one they want to sell reasonable?

Related question, what's a good brand & type of tap for the job?

Toolguy
01-25-2012, 09:48 AM
The tapping head reverses by lifting up on the handle for the quill. Pushing down, the tap goes forward. Lifting a little brings it to a neutral position where the tap stops turning. Lifting more reverses the tap and brings it out of the hole. This is a very controllable operation as you can make the tap go slow, stop or reverse at will. To control depth you simply set the quill depth stop and when the tap pulls down far enough it will stop turning. Very repeatable.
You can often get good tapping heads on eBay pretty cheap. I use an Ettco one quite a bit, there are Tapmatic, Procunier and others. I prefer ones that have a rubberflex collet or two to cover many sizes as opposed to ones that need a different collet for each size.

goose
01-25-2012, 10:01 AM
As Toolguy says.

Additionally, there's a bar or lever sticking out on the side that prevents the tap head from whipping around. You should set up a stop, (or if long enough use the drill column as a stop) for the lever to bear against. Don't hold it in your hand. It's safer and allows your other hand to apply lubricant.

I've got a Tapmatic and a Ridgid, I don't use tap heads often enough to develop any strong opinions on brands.

DICKEYBIRD
01-25-2012, 10:48 AM