PDA

View Full Version : Tach armature



ironmonger
01-27-2012, 12:36 PM
I have an Electrocraft E19-2 servo motor that has a tach drive. I want to fit an encoder to the tach end, but the shaft size is 1/2".

I am planning on turning the shaft down to .250" and fitting a CUI to that end of the housing, but I am not quite sure how to remove the tachometer armature.

It appears that armature is just pressed on and can be removed with a suitable puller. I don't care what happens to the tach armature, but I don't want to damage anything else.

Am I on the right track to tach removal?

Thanks

paul

MaxHeadRoom
01-27-2012, 01:07 PM
I have removed them with a puller before, obviously take care not to damage windings etc.
If the armature is removed for any length of time, it may pay to slide a round piece of steel in place of the arm. to act as a keeper, although it seems steppers are more prone to magnet loss that servo's.
Max.

macona
01-27-2012, 02:46 PM
A puller works. I have also just grabbed them with my hand and pulled them off.

ironmonger
01-27-2012, 03:16 PM
Thanks for the heads up, Max.
If anyone wants a tach armature and set of brushes for a Electrocraft E19-2
send me a private message with your addy and it's yours for the shipping. I'll toss in the friction collar, the magnets and retainers....

:)

Paul