PDA

View Full Version : Sharp first milling machine

Toxic
02-05-2012, 09:45 AM
Just wondering what you guys thought of these sharp frist milling machines..I believe this is an LMV model 3 hp motor. No power feeds on axis and no dro altho i am not sure what that is under the saddle? The price delivery with a vise, fly cutter, a few end mills, a clamp set and i am not sure but maybe an r-8 collet set is 2400...I am just a hobbyist but only want to buy a mill once.. This mill will be the mate to my 13 x 36 clausing chochester lathe. Thanks for any input and enjoy the pictures..

http://i39.tinypic.com/2w7jt5f.jpg

http://i41.tinypic.com/zslqgk.jpg

Dr Stan
02-05-2012, 09:59 AM
Sharp made good machines, but a price of $2400 would certainly make me hesitate. Since I do not know the machine tool market in your area I do not know if this is a reasonable price or not.

I just googled "sharpe milling machine" and that exact model is still made. You may want to check with a dealer to find out the price of a new unit and cost compare them.

gizmo2
02-05-2012, 10:06 AM
Looks like there is still some fun left in it! See if you can track down the fine quill feed handwheel. Is the ram square or round? Folks seem to prefer square. Comes with some tooling, that's a bonus. Considering the length of time you will own it and the enjoyment it will bring, the bucks don't sound too bad. I weigh these major purchase decisions against cars and computers (lots of bucks for little service) so it always seems money better spent!

flylo
02-05-2012, 10:12 AM