X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Johnh57
    • Feb 2012

newbie mill question.

I realize this question has been hashed about before ad infinitum - and I've read a lot of posts on the subject. I still have a question anyway. Realizing that a BP or the holy grail of the light gunsmith mills an 8520 or 8530 is the best option. I would like something to get by with until finances/skills/and a lot of good luck come this way. So - pros/cons of the lighter Grizzly mill/drills vs a Palmgren milling attachment for a 12 x 36 (4003G).

I'm a complete newb on machining, ultimate goal is limited gunsmith work - accurizing rifles, making misc small parts, etc. I don't need to be able to mill out a block of CI and make a homemade chevy 350, but I'd like to be able to machine ejector slots, small parts for reloaders, pin slots in firing pins, tools, etc.

I'm in MT, not exactly used knee-mill country. One may turn up someday - but I'd like to have some milling capacity rather than none. Have to start somewhere.
  • DFMiller
    • Jan 2005

John,
    Buy the most rigid thing you can find. In rank of desirability.
    From least to most. There are exceptions. A V10 with the FB-2 attachment is a 3in1 but its a treasure.
    3in1 machines
    Most Round Column Mill Drills
    Dovetailed bed mills RF-45 type and 8x26 machines.
    Bridgeports
    Real industrial behemoths.

Given that there has been some amazing work done by people with 3in1's
    I have owned or worked with all of the above except the real industrial stuff.

Don't overlook things like the Taig for smaller stuff.
    Its like a religious debate on what to buy. You have to start somewhere.
    Good luck.
    Dave

Comment

+2 on everything Dave said.