PDA

View Full Version : O1 tool steel

radkins
03-19-2012, 02:10 PM
Is there any major problems with using a torch to harden O1 3/8" thick? I made some small blades for a cutter to used on plastic and occasionally wood and now I need to harden and temper them before use, the plan is to torch heat to dull red then oil quench followed by 400 deg temper for 1 hour. Will this work ok? The dull red is to prevent scaling but will that be hot enough?

Please bear with me, I know I have asked several questions about hardening and tempering but I am still learning and I have not yet tried O1 tool steel, these parts were hard to make and I don't want to ruin them at this point.

Toolguy
03-19-2012, 02:29 PM
Dull red will not get you there. You need to get to bright orange with white spots. Get it heated evenly so it looks the same all over, then quench.
I think the white (or yellow) spots are the carbides in the steel, not sure, but when they start to appear you are at the correct temp for that tool steel. This works for most common tool steels (for me anyway). After quenching, if the steel has been hardened it will be a gray color.
I like to double temper, once at the desired temp, cool, then again at 25 to 50 degrees lower temp.

MichaelP
03-19-2012, 03:44 PM
Use a magnet to figure out when you reach the critical point.

As for tempering, I'd use a lower temperature if you don't want to drop hardness too much. Sometheng like 300F for 20-25 minutes will be enough for 3/8" thickness (one hour per inch of the smallest dimension).

radkins
03-19-2012, 04:30 PM
Ok, looks as if I had it all wrong but then that's why I asked.

Thanks guys

HWooldridge
03-19-2012, 04:44 PM
Wrap in a bit of stainless foil with a scrap of paper to prevent scaling. The paper chars and burns up the O2 in the package. Quench the piece while in the pouch then remove the foil.

MichaelP
03-19-2012, 05:27 PM
I'd avoid quenching in the pouch to prevent uneven quenching/soft spots.

tylernt