PDA

View Full Version : what to do with swarf??

elginrunner
03-24-2012, 07:17 AM
I'm a newbie, and it has just occured to me that my 16 gal shop vac is about full..... I've had a lathe for about a month now, with no end in sight with the projects!! Should a fellow throw it out with the trash? Is it worth taking to the recycling center? It's a mix of 416 stainless, and 1018 cold rolled if that makes a difference.....

Ian B
03-24-2012, 08:04 AM
The usual thing to do with swarf is to walk on it, get it on your boots, and then walk through the house. Carpets are ideal for getting the swarf off your boots, and work especially well with long, stringy razor sharp stainless.

This reminds our wives that we have a constructive hobby, and they really appreciate us for this. They generally accept the minor inconvenience of shredding their bare feet on the embedded swarf with good grace.

Ian

Black Forest
03-24-2012, 08:24 AM
I take mine to the recycling place so I don't have to pay to get rid of it at the dump.

toolmaker76
03-24-2012, 08:25 AM
+1 on Ian B's comment- my wife has gained a new appreciation for what I do, as well as my skill at removing metal splinters from feet!

I would suppose it would depend on the amount generated, small amounts can go in the trash. I have two 55 gallon drums that are just about full.

I take them to the recyclers along with my aluminum cans. Different places have different policies, the place I took mine were adamant that the shavings not be oil/ coolant soaked, which they are not. Other places would probably take them with oil, but I would imagine the price would be less.

I think I got about $6 for my last barrel of shavings- hardly worth the trouble unless you are taking other stuff at the same time.

Incidentally, I have long been in the habit of taking off my shoes when I enter the house, but what happens is there is always a couple of shavings that got down my shirt or the front of my overalls that find their way to the carpet.