PDA

View Full Version : OT Zoom lens

darryl
02-20-2004, 06:38 AM
I have two zoom lenses that appear to be decent ones, a Fujinon, and a Canon. Both made for video cameras. It sure would be nice if I could adapt one to my digital camera. Making a mount arrangement is not a problem, but there would have to be an optical adaption, since I'm not willing to remove the optics from the camera. I'm sure it would work if I did remove the lenses and carefully spaced the zoom lens from the ccd, but again, I won't be doing that. (and I know that's not all there is to it).If it's reasonably possible to do this, I'd be getting an optical zoom of about 20-1, and I'd be getting some use out of a perfectly good lens. And I'd have a reason for another shop project, a tripod. I have some knowledge of focal distances, convergence and divergence, pincusioning, etc, so I should be able to understand an explanation of what would be required to do this. I have been playing with a few simple lenses out front of the camera, and I'm getting nearly 2x zoom without affecting the camera's focusing, it's own zoom, or distorting the image or color fringing. The image is even right side up, though it wouldn't matter to me if it wasn't.
Now I'm probably making you photographic and astronomical types cringe, but I'd like to hear your thoughts on this.

nheng
02-20-2004, 11:08 AM