PDA

View Full Version : Mill/Lathe Motor problem



Tony_Filipiak
04-13-2012, 09:26 PM
So after using my new-to-me mill/lathe combo, the motor started making a much louder noise, then a funky smell. After shutting it off I found that the outer case was too hot to touch.

Let it cool down and tore it apart and couldn't find anything mechanically wrong with it, checked the capacitors and they were all good. So I put the thing back together and tried running it under no load for a while, it wasn't as loud, but it still heated up way too much. I'm pretty sure that one of the field coils has a short in it that I can't see. Does anyone know if there is an easy way to fix this, or a cheap place to get a replacement

Thanks for your help
-Tony

firemandiver
04-13-2012, 11:24 PM
We'll need more info...model, brand, etc. I converted mine to VFD so I have two motors I'll never use. 3/4hp, 1725rpm . If they'll fit your machine we'll work a deal.

FD

Tony_Filipiak
04-14-2012, 04:08 AM
it's a harbor freight motor, i believe the model number is CHEAP POS. It doesn't actually have a nice nameplate on it, so i'll give you what I can find. It's a 2/3 Hp. 120/240 TEFC motor with a base mount. It has a pair of unmarked capacitors on it. That is really all I know about it. sorry I can't be much more help.

garagemark
04-14-2012, 04:35 AM
You need measurements to retrofit a motor. Chances are that your POS is a NEMA frame model. Check the chart (only a quickie version I pulled up) and let us know if yours has a NEMA frame size associated with it. This will be the easy way.

http://www.surpluscenter.com/techhelp/nema2.pdf

Sparky_NY
04-14-2012, 06:38 AM
You need measurements to retrofit a motor. Chances are that your POS is a NEMA frame model. Check the chart (only a quickie version I pulled up) and let us know if yours has a NEMA frame size associated with it. This will be the easy way.

http://www.surpluscenter.com/techhelp/nema2.pdf

I have replaced a few chicom motors, they are usually metric frame motors, not nema. Although some nema sizes are close enough to mount, the shaft sizes are not metric like the original. On my 14x40 lathe it was easiest to just buy a new pulley on fleabay with the proper shaft size for the new motor.

Dr Stan
04-14-2012, 11:23 AM
Tony,

Once you have determined the closest NEMA frame size I'd check with the Surplus Center http://www.surpluscenter.com/home.asp for a replacement motor.

Stan