PDA

View Full Version : old surface plate - buy or pass?

donf
04-14-2012, 10:43 AM
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee288/earlysb1/for%20sale/077369b9.jpg
This popped up used - its supposed to be an old 18x18 calibrated surface plate with legs, but look at the big dings! They are asking $75, but after I saw the dings in the picture I am thinking a 12x12 granite one from shars for about the same price shipped is looking pretty good! I have very little machine tool knowledge so I just figured I would get a second opinion in case I was over looking something.

tdmidget
04-14-2012, 10:58 AM
Forget it. IF it ever was a surface plate, it ain't now. That hanger thing looks very out of place. To be a surface plate, it would have to be scraped and then to maintain it's flatness, scraped or lapped on a regular basis.
Granite is cheaper, more durable and easier to maintain.

MotorradMike
04-14-2012, 11:05 AM
Are they claiming it's calibrated now?

donf
04-14-2012, 11:09 AM
No not now - this is the ad. http://portland.craigslist.org/clk/tls/2949531194.html
Thank you for the feedback!

vpt
04-14-2012, 11:15 AM
Honestly I wouldn't mind having something like that for bolting down parts for welding.

donf
04-14-2012, 11:25 AM
Honestly I wouldn't mind having something like that for bolting down parts for welding.
This was an old welding project with surplus 80/20 t-slot purchased off ebay when aluminum was cheaper. The T slots with nuts from 80/20 work great for bolting things down.
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee288/earlysb1/Shop/wt1.jpg

plastikosmd
04-14-2012, 11:30 AM
my surface 'table' is a bit bigger but followed the same advice as above. It made a great welding table. Added some wheels and a ironworker, I should bolt a vise to it also....hmmm
http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/plastikosmd/weldingbench.jpg

vpt
04-14-2012, 11:37 AM