PDA

View Full Version : A/C coil cleaner - Hazmat level???

Highpower
04-16-2012, 09:27 AM
I got a call from McMaster-Carr this morning regarding an order I placed on-line. One of the items I ordered was a gallon of coil cleaner for air conditioning units. The sales rep informed me that they could not ship this "extremely hazardous" material to a residence. :confused:

Ok.... it's an acid based cleaner - I know that. Just how concentrated is this stuff considering all the drama I got on the phone?

I can always have it delivered to a local business address, but I'm wondering if I really want to be storing the unused portion at home now if it's going to fall under the "China Syndrome". :rolleyes:

vincemulhollon
04-16-2012, 01:18 PM
Ok.... it's an acid based cleaner - I know that. Just how concentrated is this stuff considering all the drama I got on the phone?

I can always have it delivered to a local business address, but I'm wondering if I really want to be storing the unused portion at home now if it's going to fall under the "China Syndrome". :rolleyes:

This is almost the definition of why MSDS exist... I can only answer generally as an ex-chemist, so why bother. The real answer is on the MSDS.

An acid based cleaner, interesting. Everything I've seen for AC cleaner is either alkaline or detergent. Sure about that?

Alkaline spray cans aka "non-acid cleaner" are basically relabeled kitchen oven spray cleaner and should be treated that way unless the MSDS says otherwise of course. They eat cig smoke, and airborne grease, and clothing, and flesh, and eyes, and corrode your evaporator coil if not properly flushed away. Basically they saponify fats and the soap washes away. The reaction with aluminum is more interesting, where it basically eats the protective oxide layer as fast as it can form by creating soluble aluminum hydroxide. Steel is more or less alkaline stable, so rest assured it'll dissolve your coil long before it has any effect on your ductwork.