PDA

View Full Version : Milestone - My 1st paying job (Home Shop)

kyfho
04-16-2012, 07:18 PM
Fast background:
I am an Electrician for a steel mill. It's a large operation and amazingly, they do not have machine shop or fab shop. If the mechanics can't torch it or weld it, it gets farmed out to a local machine shop where we frequently get gouged ($$$), but that's another story.

I have quickly developed the reputation as someone that has unique (for them) fabrication and machining skills and can think outside the box (read as McGuyver).

As such, when the engineers in charge of the substation found they have boxes of fuse holders that are drilled and tapped for the wrong bolt size, they asked if I could modify them in my shop at home.

2 sizes (50 Amp & 100 Amp), 300+ total pieces.
6061-T6 Al
Blind hole - 3/4" deep
Currently 5/16"-18
Required 1/2"-13

http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz58/kyfho47/1Overview.jpg

http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz58/kyfho47/2Profile.jpg

http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz58/kyfho47/3Endview.jpg

Had to make a stop collar for the 7/16" bit.

http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz58/kyfho47/4Stopcollar.jpg

Cont...

kyfho
04-16-2012, 07:29 PM
Cont...

Drill to depth
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz58/kyfho47/5Drilltodepth.jpg

2 step tapping - 1st taper tap, them bottom tap
http://i813.photobucket.com/albums/zz58/kyfho47/6Tap.jpg

Had to modify a tap for bottoming. Only had taper taps at home.

Will be paid my normal base pay for time required.

I'm trying to approach this like a genuine shop and calculate operation time per piece.

1 hour for set-up
2 min./piece to drill (clearing the chips is a royal pain with that collar)
5 min./piece to tap (2 tapping operations)
These times account for loading, operation, unloading and clean-up.

As this is my first try at this, does this seem reasonable?

P.S. Quickly figured out that my next modification to the lathe is a quick release lock for my tail stock.:)

John Stevenson