PDA

View Full Version : Who would you hire?

383 240z
04-25-2012, 11:50 AM
I'm thinking about changing careers. I was a automotive line tech for 12 years, ran a transmission shop for 3 years, built custom hot rods for 4 years. after my time in the custom, and tranny shop I decided that I just could not go back to flat rate auto repair. I was offered an aftermarket automotive sales position, (off road Jeep stuff) I seemed like a good fit because I am an avid off-roader. I have been here for 4 years, went from phone sales to retail store manager in 2 years, and like I said in my first sentence, I'm thinking of leaving.

My reasons are selfish, I'm making decent cash for what I do, I'm in an air conditioned office most of the day, and I don't get dirty, how ever I am not producing anything. All I do is move papers from one pile to another, and put out fires when UPS damages a shipment, or we send the customer a wrong part.

My soul needs my body to produce something. I bought a mill and a lathe, just so I could make parts for my hobby, (hot rods, and Jeeps). I taught myself to weld and use these machines with a decent amount of precision.

Now to the good bits. I live right in the center of the Marcelles shale formation, and the oil and gas industry is BOOMING here. All the local machine shops are busy. One near me, that I have been buying drops from for awhile is hiring. I have been on the main floor several times, nice and clean, well maintained machines. They are hiring. I do NOT consider my self a machinist, however I have an excellent work ethic, ability to work un supervised and smart enough to stop before I get in over my head.

My question to all of you, who run shops, if you your hiring, would you consider somebody like me? The help wanted sign has been hanging for a while, and good skilled workers are hard to find. Let me know your thoughts, and if you would get into this line of work at this time? Thank you Keith

flylo
04-25-2012, 12:04 PM