PDA

View Full Version : L.E.D. Shop lighting--power supply?

Low-alloy
05-13-2012, 02:04 AM
Hello Folks,

As I mentioned in a previous thread, I am transitioning from fluorescent lighting to LED. The last time I had to pay to dispose of the burn-out tubes I swore off dealing with fluorescents.

Anyway, I thought I'd try the CREE led emitters that Deal Extreme has for sale. Model XMLAWT 1000-Lumen LED Emitter White Light Bulb (3.0~3.5V) to be exact <dealextreme.com/p/xmlawt-1000-lumen-led-emitter-white-light-bulb-3-0-3-5v-51989>. The problem I am having is locating an appropiate driver! Each emitter pulls 3000mA, which appears to me make none of the drivers Deal Extreme sales suitable. As I am totally new to LED's and probably overlooking an apparent driver on the Deal Extreme website could someone point a good one out to me?

Thanks in advance

danlb
05-13-2012, 11:13 AM
This is not actually a reply to your query, so forgive me if it comes off as pedantic.

There are many power supplies available that will provide 3 amps at 3 to 3.5 volts. The problem is that the LEDs will not be consistent in the exact voltage that will make them draw that 3 amps. If you feed 3.5 volts to one that only needs 3 volts you may find it drawing 4 or even 5 amps and it will burn out early ( minutes to hundreds of hours ). To complicate things, the voltage need also changes a little with age and / or heat.

The two points above limit how you can provide power to the LEDs. If you get 3 matched ones that all draw the same amps ( and less than 3 amps at 3.5 volts), then you can wire three in series and use a voltage regulated 10.5 volt supply that is rated for 3 amps or more. If the LEDs are not closely matched they will use wildly different amounts of current.