PDA

View Full Version : Dyno-testing disasters car tuning gone wrong

wierdscience
05-17-2012, 10:32 PM
Oh theh humanitah:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OzFGUUR1UDI&feature=endscreen&NR=1

justanengineer
05-17-2012, 11:02 PM
Thanks for posting. Hopefully some of these videos will keep those with little experience/intelligence from tempting fate being near a spinning dyno.

Quite often I have to help our test engineers run the dyno/instrumentation to test the engines I design for a living. I used to love being in the cell itself while things were running, until a few digital safety measures failed, the engine I was working on oversped, several pistons contacted injectors and "ejected" them at me in <3 seconds. Luckily I was unhurt (missed) but the lesson stuck and I hide in the control room unless absolutely necessary now.

dian
05-18-2012, 04:56 AM
i always wondered why in the states you use the type of dynos as pictured. i never acually saw one like that. here we have the ones with two rollers, they automatcally allign the car, no need to strap it down. are they much more expensive?

Doc Nickel
05-18-2012, 05:47 AM
Single rollers allow a larger roller, which in turn means a better (larger) contact patch to the tire.

And *all* chassis dynos, including twin-roller, require the car to be strapped down. Not just for safety, but the idea is that it's a dynamometer- there's a brake acting against the roller(s)- they're not just free spinning- so without some form of restraint, the car can- and will- roll away.

A low-powered car might get away with a parking brake or wheel chocks, but any kind of powerful or modified car *must* have restraints.

Doc.

vpt
05-18-2012, 08:15 AM
Thanks for posting. Hopefully some of these videos will keep those with little experience/intelligence from tempting fate being near a spinning dyno.