X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • madbear
    • Jul 2011

cutting tool help, please

i am not very good at this yet, only been turning "metal" for about a year.
    i'm a wood worker by trade.
    i seem to be having trouble with my cutting tool setup. when i cut around 10,000 DOC i get a pretty good finish but when i only cut about 1,000-2,000 the finish is very ruff.
    i am using indexible carbide on 316 stainless at 500 rpm at .05" feed.
    i think all those figures are right. what do you think is the problem, dull bits,speed, feed or maybe tool angle?
    I know, i know, most likely a loose nut behind the wheel
    madbear
  • Alistair Hosie
    • Aug 2002

Work on the lathe is so designed to allow rough turning to near finish dimensions then fine turning to critical dimensions some here will tell you more about speeds etc.I would also adise you to check your tool height sharpening etc as this can affect finish also. Alistair
    Please excuse my typing as I have a form of parkinsons disease

Comment

• lynnl
      • Jan 2002

Originally posted by madbear
      when i cut around 10,000 DOC i get a pretty good finish but when i only cut about 1,000-2,000 the finish is very ruff.
      Unsure what you mean. If by "10,000," you're meaning 10 thousandths of an inch, that's usually expressed in the machining world as ".010"

But terminology aside, what you're experiencing is pretty normal. Finish does tend to suffer when trying to shave off tiny amounts. I'm sure the real machinists get around that problem easily, but that's what I've experienced.

You don't say what you're cutting or what equipment you're using, but if it's beefy enough I'd suggest shooting for at least .005 to .010" left for the final finishing cut.
      Lynn (Huntsville, AL)

Comment

• madbear
        • Jul 2011

Yes i mean ".010" sorry