PDA

View Full Version : OT HVAC question

Spin Doctor
07-15-2012, 01:31 AM
In the process of remodeling the basement. One of the things we did to free up space was move the furnace and A/C into the actic. Now comes the question of heating and or colling the baesment spaces. What if I install booster fans in the ducts leading from the former registers (still in place with addition fans to move air back up to the main floor. Would it work and if not why.

darryl
07-15-2012, 02:10 AM
I'm not an HVAC expert, but I see two things- moving the furnace might have changed how efficiently it works for a couple of reasons, and the airflow rates would have changed for each vent.

Some re-arranging could be done with the individual vent settings so that each area is still receiving the appropriate amount of heated or cooled air. Beyond that, if some particular ducts can't flow as much as needed even if the vent is wide open, then you could augment that with a fan. The fan or fans might be wired to operate only when the furnace fan comes on, so the effect of it all is to have the same level of air flow as before, and the same division of air into all the served areas. In essence, the furnace should not see any difference in the rate of heat or cooling extracted from it, and every room served should feel as comfortable as before the furnace was moved.

The furnace should have a proper amount of outside air entering it of course, assuming it's a fuel powered one. Besides that, if it is designed to bring in a percentage of outside air to mix into the heated or cooled air, then you would want to make sure that it can still get that air. Being in the attic is going to change some of those parameters.